APPROVED 10/11/21

Yorkville Public Library

Policy Committee Meeting Wednesday, September 8, 2021 6:00pm 902 Game Farm Road – Michelle Pfister Meeting Room

The Policy Committee meeting was called to order at 6:00pm by Chairperson Theron Garcia, roll was called and a quorum was established.

Roll Call Committee Members: Theron Garcia-yes, Darren Crawford-yes

Absent: Tara Schumacher, Rosie Millen

Others Present:

Library Director Shelley Augustine

Recognition of Visitors: Ms. Garcia recognized Ms. Augustine.

Public Comment: None

New Business:

Updating Current Library Personnel Policies Adding Policy Against Harassment

The purpose of the meeting was to update library policies and to review a new policy for harassment.

Ms. Augustine provided a copy of the current library policies along with proposed additions and deletions. She obtained policy examples from the Director's University she is attending and the creator of the University is the Executive Director of Northbrook Public Library. The Committee reviewed the proposed revisions and either agreed or suggested alternative wording. Director Augustine also included a new Policy Against Harassment which was reviewed.

Executive Session:

At approximately 7:19pm the Committee moved into Executive Session on a motion and second by Chairperson Garcia and Trustee Crawford, respectively. Ms. Garcia read the reason as follows: For the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the public body or legal counsel for the public body, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee of the public body, or against legal counsel for the public body to determine its validity. The Session ended at 7:24pm and the Committee returned to the regular meeting.

New Business cont.

No action was taken regarding the Executive Session. Ms. Augustine will revise the policies which will be presented at the September 13th Board meeting.

Adjournment:

There was no other business and the meeting was adjourned at 7:25pm. Minutes respectfully submitted by Marlys Young, Minute Taker